Why I Love That Bad Guy: The “S” and “Z” Blocks

Note: Take a look up top, oh loyal readers, and you’ll see that my “Why I Love That Bad Guy” segment now has its own page, for quick access to all my beloved villains.

Here we are again, oh loyal readers, with another exciting segment of “Why I Love That Bad Guy“!

Let’s not delay — we’ll dive right in, with this round’s villains, the dastardly Tetris blocks…

Names: The S and Z blocks

Origin: Various Tetris games

History: The very first Tetris game was created in Moscow in 1984. Alongside the other pieces, known only as “I”, “J”, “L”, “O” and “T”, the “S” and “Z” blocks were named for their shape, and have featured in a wide variety of games in 95% of the world. That’s nearly World Domination.

Why I Love Them:

  • Like all good bad guys (oxymoron?), they have perfect timing, and will always show up just when you don’t want them to.
  • They present a challenge.
  • They are mysterious — after all, is the Z block really a Z block… Or is it just an S block in disguise? We may never know…
  • Because, as I always say, someone should love the bad guy. After all, maybe all they’ve ever wanted is to fit in.

I Would Love Them More If…

  • …they didn’t constantly ruin my game just as I’m nearing my personal record. Jerks…
  • …they would do that tricky manuever where you spin them just as they touch base, so that they fit into little gaps nicely. I can never make that work.
  • …they didn’t show up with such frequency that the “I” block can never seem to get through. Come to think of it, maybe the “I” block is just evil, too.

Favourite Quotes:

Does the music count? I love that music. Doo, do-do-doo, do-do-doo, do-do-doo…

Interesting Fact about the S and Z Blocks:

Did you know that the S and Z blocks are the reason the game cannot be played indefinitely? Due to the game’s random-block generator, the player will encounter these challenging blocks frequently enough that empty squares of playing field will appear. Ultimately, the game is doomed to end.

Verdict: AWESOME

– Love The Bad Guy

7 thoughts on “Why I Love That Bad Guy: The “S” and “Z” Blocks

  1. Hah, just started reading your stuff. Love it! Though I found the square ones to be the worst. At least the z/s can fill gaps 😛

    Hope to see more soon!

  2. Okay, I can’t read this post and not show you this video: ‘The Man Who Throws the Tetris Piece’:

    It’s goofy, but amusing. Skip to 1:18 if you just want to hear the song..

  3. Awesome post and all true! I’ve held a grudge against the S and Z’s ever since I first encountered tetris lo those many years past.

    Love that facebook clip at the end about the burial and the coffin! Loved it!

Share your evil thoughts...

